Congratulations to the 2019 Santa Barbara County Leadership Award Recipients!

2019 Santa Barbara County Leadership Award Recipients. Left to Right: Valerie Kissell, Emerging Leaders Award Recipient; Maricela Morales, Visionary Leader Award Recipient; Dr. Charles Fenzi – Representing the Bridge Clinic, Better Together Award Recipient; and Edwin Weaver, Emerging Leader Award Recipient.

The Santa Barbara Foundation sponsored and hosted the inaugural Santa Barbara County Leadership Awards on Tuesday, May 14 in Solvang, California. This joyous event brought together 200 community members in the middle of the county to learn about the 2019 award recipients.

The Santa Barbara County Leadership Awards are part of the Santa Barbara Foundation’s Collaboration for Social Impact (CSI), formed in 2019 to ensure nonprofit leaders and organizations have the tools, skills and resources to fulfill their mission. As one of the products of the Foundation’s strategic priorities, CSI facilitates workshops, seminars, coaching and mentoring, and engages in public and sector advocacy, developed and implemented through an ongoing collaboration with community leaders and partner organizations.

The development and launch of CSI will be advised by a diverse and experienced group of nonprofit executive leaders that live and work throughout Santa Barbara County. These individuals make up the CSI Advisory Group which include, Sylvia Barnard, Executive Director of Good Samaritan Shelter, Roger Durling, Executive Director of the Santa Barbara International Film Festival, Eder Gaona-Macedo, Executive Director of Future Leaders of America, Sean Hawkins, Executive Director of the Santa Maria Valley Humane Society, Victoria Juarez, President and CEO of the Scholarship Foundation of Santa Barbara, Patricia Keelean, CEO of the Community Action Commission, Dean Palius, CEO of Santa Ynez Valley People Helping People, Sigrid Wright, President and CEO of the Community Environmental Council, and Santa Barbara Foundation Trustee Ernesto Paredes. Each member will reside on the CSI advisory group for two years.

Read the press release to learn more about the Santa Barbara County Leadership Awards.

Related News