Celebrate Philanthropy

2023 Honorees

We’re pleased to announce the DeBrum Family and Mario Juarez were named the 2023 Celebrate Philanthropy Honorees for their dedicated service to the Santa Maria Valley. Read more about the DeBrum Family and Mario Juarez here.

The DeBrum Family

Since Faith DeBrum was diagnosed with Hodgkin’s Lymphoma eight years ago, on her 11th birthday, the DeBraum family have raised nearly one million dollars through their involvement in Golf for Wishes and Golfing for Little Heroes. The Santa Maria golf tournaments benefit Make-A-Wish Tri-Counties and

The DeBrum Family (from left: Landon, Laura, Faith, Ronnie)

Teddy Bear Cancer Foundation and Children’s Miracle Network at Cottage Children’s Medical Center.

In addition, their nominator Ann Peyrat, Gift Officer for the Children’s Miracle Network, shares that families have told her that hearing the DeBrum’s story of triumph over cancer has helped them cope with their own battles.

“The DeBrums serve as a source of comfort, reassurance, support, and advice for others facing similar challenges,” Peyrat explains, “something that is desperately needed during what can be an absolutely devastating health crisis.”

Mario Juarez
Mario Juarez, Esq.

Mario’s nominator, Jon Hooten, Executive Director of College Advancement at Allan Hancock College Foundation, describes Mario’s 20 years of “selfless and quiet service” in Santa Maria’s philanthropic, educational, and religious communities, as the reason he was inspired to nominate him. Mario Juarez is a current member of the Board of Directors at Allan Hancock College Foundation, previously serving on numerous other boards for organizations such as Marian Region Medical Center, Habitat for Humanity, Latino Business Community Council, among others.

In addition to time volunteered across these organizations, he also invests his legal expertise in a free course he teaches at Hancock, helping hundreds of families over the years. He established the Maria Romero Memorial Scholarship at Hancock, which he has funded annually for 15 years.

Honorees are selected by an independent committee from nominations submitted by community members. The nomination period for the 2023 Celebrate Philanthropy honorees was August 1 – September 8, 2023.





Purchase Tickets

Join us at the Santa Maria Country Club on November 2, 2023, from 11:30 a.m. – 1:30 p.m. to celebrate the DeBrum Family and Mario Juarez.




About Celebrate Philanthropy

Celebrate Philanthropy honors individuals, couples or families who, through direct service or financial support, have demonstrated outstanding civic and charitable work in the Santa Maria Valley.

Philanthropy means literally “love of mankind.” Few communities embody the true spirit of philanthropy quite like Santa Maria Valley. Whether giving time, talent, or treasure, many of our residents go above and beyond to help others and to strengthen our community. Celebrate Philanthropy was created not only to honor these outstanding role models, but also to share their stories and inspire others. Each year an independent committee representing diverse Santa Maria Valley community members comes together to select individuals, couples or families who, through direct service or financial support, have demonstrated outstanding civic and charitable work in the Santa Maria Valley. Recipients are selected from a wide range of candidates who have been nominated by community members.



Former Honorees

Diane Adam | George & Deborah Adam | Henri & Jeanie Ardantz | Stu & Jan Bartleson | Dan & Peggy Blough | Jim Bray | Mike & Linda Cordero | Amy Curti | Maggi Daane | Georganne Ferini | Patrick & Jeri Ferini | Greg & Donna France | Judy & Erik Frost | Mike Gibson | Agnes Grogan | Marylinn Green | Nancy K. Johnson | Royce & Ann Lewellen | Delores & Jerry Luis | Tom & Mary Jane Martinez | Clarence & Rosalie Minetti | Tim Murphy |  Ed & Lisa Murray | Ron & Mary Nanning | Joe & Jean Olivera | Frank & Scottie Ortiz | Gayle Pratt | Dennis & Franziska Shepard | Dorothy & Mark Smith | Sue J. Sword | Anne & Jay Will | John F. Will | Edwin & Jeanne Woods

Learn more about past honorees here.

2022 Celebrate Philanthropy Honorees: George & Deborah Adam and Mike & Linda Cordero

Read more about these outstanding couples.




Community Bank of Santa Maria

To become a sponsor of Celebrate Philanthropy Awards please contact Kevin Kuga at KKuga@SBFoundation.org.